Council Members

The San Francisco Our Children, Our Families Council consists of up to 42 members, including:

  • The Mayor and 13 appointed City department heads;
  • The Superintendent and 13 appointed representatives of the San Francisco Unified School District; and
  • 14 community members appointed by the Mayor.

Click here to download a roster


Click on a member's name or picture to read their biography.

CIty DepArtment MEMbers

Dr. Maria Su - Department of Children, Youth, & Their Families

Barbara Garcia - Department of Public Health

Naomi Kelly - General services agency

TRENT RHORER - human services agency

allen nance - juvenile probation department

september Jarret - Mayor's office of early care & education

todd rufo - Mayor's office of economic & workforce                                            development

Olson lee - MAYOR'S OFFICE OF housing & community Development

edward reiskin - Municipal Transportation AGENCY

john rahaim - PLanning Department

bill Scott - police DEPARTMENT

luis herrera - Public Library

phil ginsburg - Recreation and Parks Department


SFUSD members

Guadalupe guerrero - Deputy Superintendent of instruction,                                                innovation & Social Justice

kevin truitt - chief of student, family, community support                                     services department  

Dr. brent stephens - CHIEF Academic officer  

Dr. elizabeth blanco - chief of Special education                                                                     services

Dr. ritu khanna - chief of research, planning &                                                                Assessment  

jill hoogendyk - chief of Staff 

melissa Dodd - CHIEF Technology Officer

David goldin - CHIEF facilities Officer 

Don Daves-Rougeaux - CHIEF of strategy & Fund Development 

Landon Dickey - Special Assistant to the Superintendent for                                     African American Achievement & Leadership

Orla o'keeffe - chief of policy and operations

MEENOO YASHAR - Interim Chief of Early Education Department



community members

Dr. E'Leva Gibson - DCYF Oversight & Advisory Committee 

candace wong - Office of Early Care & Education Citizen ADVISORY                             COMMITTEE 

Lyslynn Lacoste - public education & Enrichment                                                              Fund CITIZEN ADVISORY COMMITTEE 

Cecilia Galeano  - Youth Commissioner 


luisa sicairos - transitional Age Youth

masharika prejean maddison - parent of Child under 5

kentaro iwasaki - parent of K-12 student

sherilyn adams - service Provider

CAROLINE BARLERIN - Twitter, (business)

philip halperin - Philanthropy

egon terplan - Housing expert

abby snay - Economic/workforce expert

President Les wong - higher education